National Consumer Classification System

The New Consumer Classification System or the New SEC system is used to classify households in India.

  • Education of chief wage earner
  • Number of “consumer durables” (from a predefined list) - owned by the family. The list has 11 items, ranging from ‘electricity connection’ and ‘agricultural land’- to cars and air conditioners.

Below are the 11 items owned or have access to by respondents, and are considered while classifying households.

Electricity Connection

Ceiling Fan

LPG Stove

Two Wheeler

Colour TV


Washing Machine

Personal Computer/ Laptop


Air Conditioner

Agricultural Land